Cabinet retains 13 members from last parliament


THIRTEEN members of the previous Cabinet have been retained in the new 33-member team, with some portfolios being reshuffled.
They are:

  • Prime Minister Peter O’Neill, who takes over sports and Apec;
  • Deputy PM Charles Abel, who becomes the new treasurer;
  • James Marape retains finance and takes on rural development as well;
  • John Pundari retains environment, conservation and climate change;
  • Rimbink Pato retains foreign affairs and trade but loses immigration;
  • Nick Kuman back as education minister;
  • William Duma retains public enterprise and state investments;
  • Douglas Tomuriesa retains the forestry portfolio;
  • Benny Allen moves from lands to agriculture and livestock;
  • Justin Tkatchenko moves from sports and Apec to lands;
  • Sir Puka Temu moves from public service to health;
  • Davis Steven formerly in civil aviation but now the justice minister and attorney-general;
  • Fabian Pok formerly police minister and now in charge of petroleum and energy.

In an interesting move, Alfred Manasseh, the man who beat Don Polye in Kandep, is the new civil aviation minister.

Leave a Reply