Captain, coach bag awards


PAPUA New Guinea Hunters captain Ase Boas capped off a stellar regular season in the Intrust Super Cup with two major honours at the QRL Major Competition Awards dinner on Wednesday night.
Within an hour of claiming the XXXX People’s Choice Award, the classy five-eighth was celebrating once more after accepting the Courier-Mail Best and Fairest Medal in front of more than 300 guests at the Royal International Convention Centre. Boas polled 29 points (from the referees on a 3-2-1 basis) to edge out Redcliffe Dolphins prop Matt Lodge by one point to win the prestigious medal.
Central hooker Krys Freeman (25), Easts halfback Brodie Croft (22) and Ipswich fullback Michael Purcell (22) rounded out the top five.
Boas has been in exceptional form for the Hunters this year, crossing for nine tries and booting 84 goals for a personal haul of 204 points.
Only Townsville’s Carlin Anderson has scored more points throughout the regular season as the competition’s focus now turns to Week One of the finals.
The Hunters, who were formally presented with the John McDonald Minor Premiership Shield on the night, will have the weekend off before hosting the Redcliffe Dolphins on Sunday week.
PNG’s Michael Marum was named Coach of the Year after guiding the Hunters to 17 wins and a draw.
Former Hunter Just Olam, pictured, also featured on the night being named the competition’s centre of the year.
2017 QRL award winners:
U20s Statewide Player of the Year: Reece Braun – Redcliffe Dolphins
Mal Meninga Cup Player of the Year: Cory Paix – Western Mustangs
FOGS Colts Player of the Year: Stephen Buckley – Sunshine Coast Falcons
Carbine Club Rookie of the Year: Brandon Smith – Sunshine Coast Falcons
Leading Point Scorer: Carlin Anderson – Townsville Blackhawks
Leading Try Scorer: Jonathon Reuben – Townsville Blackhawks
Club Championship: Redcliffe Dolphins
John ‘Cracker’ McDonald Minor Premiership Shield: PNG Hunters
XXXX People’s Choice: Ase Boas (Hunters)
Representative Player of the Year: Nick Slyney – Redcliffe Dolphins
Women’s Representative Player of the Year: Brittany Breayley
Intrust Super Cup Team of the Year:
Fullback: Jamayne Isaako (Souths Logan)
Winger: Jonathon Reuben (Townsville)
Centre: Justin Olam (Sunshine Coast)
Five-Eighth: Billy Walters (Easts Tigers)
Halfback: Brodie Croft (Easts Tigers)
Prop: Matt Lodge (Redcliffe Dolphins)
Hooker: Pat Politoni (Burleigh Bears)
Second Row: Blake Leary (Townsville)
Lock: Sam Anderson (Redcliffe Dolphins)
Coach: Michael Marum (PNG Hunters)
Courier Mail Best & Fairest Medal: Ase Boas – PNG Hunters. –

Leave a Reply