Chaos in Lae Football Association as rebellious four get the boot


FOUR A-League clubs have parted ways with Lae Football Association to lead in the formation of a new soccer body, the Morobe Football Association.
The clubs are Poro, Bumayong United, Bugandi and Eriku Wawens, who have been set on leaving Lae Football Association following its suspension by the Papua New Guinea Football Association last December.
The four clubs were shown the exit last Sunday during the LFA congress meeting.
LFA president and senior vice president for Football Federation PNG (FPNG) Roy Kamen said in a press statement that LFA executives and congress did not remove the clubs.
He said the clubs moved on their own accord to be with PNGFA since LFA was now affiliated with FFPNG.
“These clubs formed a new association and their agent, Peter Seske, went public on the two dailies of their intention to break away from LFA and stick with PNGFA.
“After making public their intention, these clubs fronted up at the LFA congress on Sunday (March 12) and were politely shown the door,” Kamen said.
He said the business of the day was halted to ask the clubs to leave as they have been causing disharmony in the administration of football at LFA. “Since last year when I, Roy Kamen and junior vice-president Stanley Khanna, were suspended by Oceania Football Confederation on the appeal of PNGFA president David Chung, this group’s insistence and disruption of our association led to the suspension of LFA.
“Their departure was received whole heartedly by the loyal clubs of LFA and they won’t be missed,” Kamen said.
The president said that LFA executives would also write to these and other clubs, who have been part of the revolt, asking them to show cause or Lae Football Association would not hesitate to show them the door.
Kamen said an olive branch was extended to the players affected by the decisions of their clubs to either affiliate with clubs remaining at LFA or approach the executives to find a way forward.

Leave a Reply