City rugby league finalists’ prize purse gets richer


THE Port Moresby Rugby Football League board has increased the prizemoney for the winners of each division in this year’s competition.
The decision to increase the prizemoney from last year’s amounts was made after a meeting on Monday at the National Football Stadium. PRL chairman Dr James Naipao said the A grade champion would receive K20,000 — a K9000 increase from last year’s sum of K11,000.
He said the A grade runners-up would walk away with K10,000; the Under-20 and women’s winners would get K7000 each, while their runner-ups would pocket K3500 each.
A grade minor premiers Kone Storm get K7000 for topping the table after the regular season, while the U20 and women’s minor titlists get K3000 each for their first-place finishes.
Meanwhile, Naipao said the board had agreed to defer the grand final to Sept 25, which would be on the day after the Prime Minister’s XIII fixture at the NFS.
He said this was so the PRL could use the NFS to stage its grand final matches as the venue will not be used until the Sept 24 annual representative match.
“The NFS Trust has given us the go ahead to stage our grand finals at the best venue in the country,” Naipao said.
“We are grateful to the NFS board of trustees for giving us the opportunity and we also thank them for pledging K40,000 to help us stage our grand finals at the main arena.”
Naipao said the cost of hiring the venue and associated expenses was K126,000 in total.
The PRL board advised the six grand finalists (A grade, U20, women’s) to have a team account set up for the prizemoney they received.
He said that the minor premiers from the three divisions would receive their money after grand final day.
He thanked the sponsors, SP Brewery, Sports Minister Justin Tkatchenko, PNGRFL and other stakeholders for their contributions to this year’s PRL season.

Leave a Reply