Governor keen for fresh start


A 20-member Morobe cabinet was sworn-in in Lae yesterday.
This marks the beginning of a new government for the province that will be headed by Governor and provincial executive council chairman Ginson Saonu.
After a brief speech by Saonu, commissioner of oaths John Tubian, swore in the cabinet members.
Those sworn-in were:

  • Ginson Saonu – finance, administration and government investment
  • Waka Daimon – works and infrastructure
  • Harry Umbingke – culture and tourism
  • Andrew Gena – education
  • Kiwas Nayos – law and order
  • Okam Patom – mining and petroleum
  • Philemon Tomala – fisheries and marine resources
  • Lowi Emias – liquior licensing
  • Sam Agi – human resources
  • Koim Trilu Leahy – commerce and industry
  • Noel Kipindu-Sports
  • Manasseh Laina-LLG Affairs and Boundaries
  • Thomas Pelika-Lands and Physical Planning
  • Ross Seymour-Health
  • Koni Iguan-Agriculture and Livestock
  • Dr Kobby Bomareo-Transport
  • Mayford Mavo-Youth, Women and Disability
  • Maik Hepo-Environment, Carbon Trade and Forestry
  • Jeffrey Tobias-Government and Church Partnership and,
  • Joel Johnson-Policy, Planning and Research.

“This is a beginning of a new Morobe,” Saonu said.
Saonu told members of the new cabinet that his choice was based on a lot of factors including experience and background of the leaders.
“It means that you are no longer what you were. You are a new person,” he said.
“Do not play politics but focus on delivering services to the people.”
“We are going to carry a big province,” Saonu said.
“I have chosen you to help me carry Morobe to another level.

The provincial cabinet comprises of LLG presidents and four Morobe MPs – Thomas Pelika (Menyamya), Koni Iguan (Markham), Ross Seymour (Huon Gulf) and Dr Kobby Bomareo (Tewai-Siassi).

Leave a Reply