Kokomos 9s nominated


THE annual Queensland Papua New Guinea Kokomo Rugby League Nines Carnival, held in Beenleigh, Qld has been nominated as the sports event of the year in the Audi Centre Springwood 2017 City of Logan Sports Awards.
The event is hosted by Qld PNG Rugby League.
It started as a means to trial players to select the Qld PNG representative men’s open team for the Queensland Pacific Island Cultural Carnival (QPICC) in 2014.
It has now evolved into a full blown 9s carnival in its own right.
The inaugural Kokomos 9s Carnival was held at Bill Norris Oval, Beenleigh with the visiting PNG team, the Owan Titans being named championship winners.
Three years later, the only thing that is recognisable about the event is the location in Beenleigh.
The Kokomos 9s has grown in both scale and stature, attracting a mix of international, professional and amateur talent all vying for A$5000 (K12,806) in cash and place in the Qld PNG Kokomos men’s open squad when they take on the likes of the Indigenous, Maori, Cook Islands, Tonga, Samoa, Tokelau and other Pacific Island teams in the annual QPICC carnival hosted by the Queensland Rugby League.
The QPICC Carnival will be held in the last weekend of October.
This year’s Kokomos 9s is on Sept 23 at Bill Norris Oval, Beenleigh. The event will see 12 teams from Brisbane, NSW and Papua New Guinea taking part.
The local Brisbane-based PNG cultural heritage teams include 2015 winners and last year’s runners-up, CDMC, Hiritano Jets, Logan Central, Mek Brothers, and Tamioks as will the Owan Titans from PNG.
Also from PNG are Team DOF, Southern Heat, Bootless Bay Sharks and the Port Moresby Vipers.
X-P-R-L Rams will represent NSW Country.
Unfortunately, last year’s winners, the West Papua Warriors, are not be able to make the trip to defend their title.
The nines format aims to showcase PNG rugby league talent, which is characterised by its fast, flambouyant style, ‘never say die’ attitude and big hits which the fans appreciate.
Winners of the Audi Centre Springwood 2017 City of Logan Sports Awards will be announced at this annual gala awards presentation on Oct 5.
The gala dinner will feature Australian cricketing legend Ian Healy as MC and seven time women’s world champion surfer Layne Beachley as guest speaker.

Leave a Reply