MPs return, ready for session


By Malum Nalu
THE 59 members-elect led by Peter O’Neill returned to Port Moresby from their Alotau camp yesterday confident of forming
the government in Parliament today.
Barring any 11th-hour defections, O’Neill looks set to retain the top job. Only 105 of the 111 writs have so far been declared.
The Kokopo camp has 46.
Late yesterday, Peter Yama was declared the winner of the Madang regional seat.
However, his attendance in Parliament today is subject to the return of his writ by Electoral Commissioner Patilias Gamato
to Governor-General Sir Bob Dadae.
Yesterday morning, he flew to Alotau with three other MPs-elect Wesley Raminai (Kagua-Erave, Independent), Jeffrey Komal (Nipa-Kutubu, PNC) and Dr William Tongamp (Jiwaka regional, People’s Party).
Immediately after signing the accord, which is the template for national development over the next five years, O’Neill and 58 other MPs-elect boarded a chartered Air Niugini F100 aircraft for Port Moresby.
Upon arrival at Jackson Airport, which was witnessed by hundreds of people, the Alotau Camp members were whisked away in four waiting buses to their hotel.
There was a lockdown as the MPs-elect met and prepared themselves for the first Parliament meeting today.

Leave a Reply