NA-led team talks up chances


The National Alliance-led coalition parties are positive to muster the majority of the MPs to form the next government when Parliament sits this week, Northern Governor and People’s Movement For Change leader Gary Juffa says.
Juffa said the coalition of NA, PMFC, Pangu, Triumph Heritage Empowerment Party, Coalition for Reform Party, PNG Party, Melanesian Liberal Party, Melanesian Alliance and two independents now had a total of 33 MPs-elect in camp in Kokopo, East New Britain.
“But we have some MPs still in Port Moresby and they will bring up our numbers to about 44 MPs,” Juffa said.
“That is from me but the other coalition leaders probably have the latest figures.”
He said they felt free to move around in the camp.
“The atmosphere is positive as you can see journalists and MPs are moving around freely,” Juffa said.
“MPs are visiting relatives and friends.
“They are going swimming, watching sports, going to the markets and discussing how to fix up the spiralling economy.
“They also have their mobile phones on; they are in contact with their family and anyone outside the camp.
“They are not restricted to talk to anyone.
“After all, they have not arrived here at gunpoint, they haven’t been kidnapped by ex-MPs, rogue military or police officers.
“They came here freely with their people’s interest at heart.”
The MPs in the camp are Namatanai MP Walter Schnaubelt (NA), East Sepik Governor Allan Bird (NA), Rabaul MP Dr Allan Marat (MLP), Juffa, Nuku MP Joe Sungi (NA), Maprik MP John Simon (NA), Angoram MP Salio Waipo (NA), Kairuku-Hiri MP Peter Isoaimo (NA) and Kerema MP  Richard Mendani (NA).
Also in the camp are Ijivitari MP Richard Masere (NA), Madang MP Bryan Kramer (Pangu), Sumkar MP Chris Nangoi (Pangu), Markham MP Konni Iguan (Pangu), Tewai-Siassi MP Kobby Bomorea (Pangu), Nawaeb MP Kennedy Wenge (Pangu), Finschhafen MP Rainbo Paita (Pangu), Goilala MP William Samb (Pangu), Menyama MP Thomas Pelika (Pangu), Rigo MP Lekwa Gure (independent), Sohe MP Henry Amuli (independent) and Karimui Salt-Nomane MP Geoffrey Kama (THE).
Others include Lufa MP Moriope Kavori (THE), Kandrian- Gloucester MP  Joseph Lelang (Coalition Reform Party) Wosera-Gawi MP Joseph Yopyopy (Melanesian Alliance), Kavieng MP Ian Lin Stuckley (NA), South Bougainville MP Timothy Masiu (NA) and North Bougainville MP William Nakin (NA).

Leave a Reply