NA remains hopeful


THE National Alliance Party is expecting to win at least 25 seats to form the next government with other parties and independent candidates it is already talking to, an official says.
Party president and Namatanai MP-elect Walter Schnaubelt told The National that there was no need to partner with the People’s National Congress Party to form the government because NA would have the numbers to form one by itself.
By 6pm yesterday, the PNC had won six seven seats with the NA two: Schnaubelt in Namatanai and Timothy Masiu who retained his South Bougainville seat.
Schnaubelt said they were already talking to other small parties and independent candidates to form the government.
“Right now, we expect about 25 NA candidates to come home,” he told The National.
“A lot of candidates (independents and from other parties) want to join us in forming government. At this point, we’re confident that we will have the numbers to form the government.
“It’s been proven that we’re prudent managers of the economy. We have enough capable people within the party. We believe that we might just make it. We’re going to try to provide an alternative to the PNC.”
NA candidates “doing well” so far include party leader Patrick Pruaitch in Aitape-Lumi, Richard Masere in Ijivitari, Ian Ling-Stuckey in Kavieng, Michael Singan in New Ireland (Regional), Ross Seymour in Huon Gulf, Allan Bird in East Sepik (Regional), Joe Sungi in Nuku, and Peter Isoaimo in Kairuku-Hiri.
“The numbers are there, mate. NA will campaign vigorously and form government.
“We have the team to lead PNG for the next five years.”
The PNC, meanwhile, gained one seat yesterday with the declaration of Davis Steven as Esa’ala MP. It will be the 48-year-old’s second term in office.

  •  Timothy Masiu, elected two times in a year (including the by-election last year) as the South Bougainville MP, is now under NA.
    Masiu, 52, a former radio broadcaster and journalist with The National was declared yesterday at the Buin Specialised Training Centre Hall.
  • Christian Democratic Party leader and Morobe Governor Kelly Naru said the win of his candidate Patrick Basa was a first for the new party.
    He said this yesterday after Basa finished ahead of Pangu Pati’s Haring Quoreka with 5863 in the Kabwum seat left vacant after Sir Bob Dadae when he became Governor-General.
  • In Komo-Magarima, independent candidate Manasseh Makibaa was declared MP after beating People’s Action Party leader Tukuyawini Peter Phillip.


Leave a Reply