New teachers’ colleges recognised


THREE new teachers colleges are now recognised by the Department of Education.
They bring to 17 the total number of teacher training institutions in the country, Education Secretary Dr Uke Kombra says.
According to Kombra the three recently certified colleges are the Rev Maru Teachers College in East Sepik, St Peter Channel College in East New Britain and the Asia Pacific Institute of Applied and Economic and Technical Studies in Port Moresby.
As of last February the department had only recognised 14 colleges offering teaching education. These were: Dauli Teachers College in Hela, Holy Trinity in Western Highlands, Enga Teachers, Melanesian Nazarene Teachers College in JIwaka, Simbu Teachers College, Madang Teachers College, Balob Teachers College in Lae, St Benedict’s Teachers College (Divine Word University campus) in  East Sepik, Gaulim Teachers College in East New Britain, Sacred Heart Teachers College in NCD, Kabaleo  Teachers College (Divine Word University campus) in ENB, Sonama  Adventist College also in ENB, PNG Education Institute in NCD and Jubilee Institute of Higher Learning in NCD.
Kombra said proposals for three additional teachers colleges in Western, Southern Highlands and Jiwaka have reached the National Education Board.
“They are yet to meet certain requirements before NEB could deliberate and make decisions for them to start operating,” he said

Leave a Reply