Ng dethrones Fong


ONE mistake on the last red in the final frame by champion Djorne Fong cost him a record ninth BSP National Snooker championship against Marcus Ng in Port Moresby on Sunday.
Ng raced to a 4-1 lead in the best-of-nine frames in the final in front of a big crowd at the Q club.
Fong won the first frame 60-22 and Ng won the next four 62-13, 63-20, 74-22, 74-15 comfortably and needed to win the sixth frame.
But a resurgent Fong fought back to win the next three frames 66-52, 68-26, 70-37 to set up a grandstand finish.
Fong had the momentum and was leading with the last red to play and the black before going on to the colours to win comfortably.
Ng needed the same to win on the black ball.
The opportunity for Ng came when Fong missed the red.
Ng potted the red, then the black and cleaned the table to win by five points (62-57) to win and claim his first national snooker title.
“That was the best game of snooker I have seen in PNG, played by two of the best in the country,” PNGBSA vice-president John Chan said after the game.
“It was same scoreline of 5-4 like last year except this year it went the other way.  Last year was the year of the Fongs after winning the minor and major titles. This year is year of the Marcuses.”
Fong admitted it was a mistake one could not afford to make at this level.
“When I missed the red, I knew it was all over. Marcus made use of the opportunity and congratulations to him,” Fong said.
Ng said: “Djorne’s comeback was brilliant.
“He is a great player. I guess I was lucky in the end.”
Ng beat Nathan Fong 4-0 in the semifinal, Willie Vaieke 3-0 in quarter-final and Arua Simoi 3-0 in the top-16 to get in the final.
Fong beat Noel Ramos 4-1 in the semifinal, edged Roger Ng 3-2 in the quarter-final and beat Miria David 3-0 to set up the grand final meet.
Alotau’s Rex Nesai took out the plate over Kavieng’s Stallone Fong.
Top seed went to Djorne Fong, John Makanda from Mt Hagen took out the best outstation player award, while the most outstanding player award went to the BSP Minor title winner Marcus Rahmon.
BSP representative Mary Johns witnessed the final and presented the cup to the winners.
Chan thanked BSP for their support for the past 14 years and co-sponsors The National, Pacific MMI and NGCB, Niche, Graffiti Signs, Strickland Real Estate, Huawei, Street Scene and Grant Agencies Ltd, Nings Agencies and Kwila Insurance Corporation.
“I also thank the venues — Aviat Club, Q Club and Laguna Hotel — for the use of their facilities over the past two weeks,” Chan said.

Leave a Reply