Runners earn rich purse in Mt Wilhelm race


THE 2016 Mt Wilhelm race ended on a high note with over K160,000 in cash given out to winners as prizes at Kegasuglo airstrip in Gembogl, Chimbu, last Thursday.
Mt Wilhelm race coordinator Paul Komba was full of praise when he declared the race as a great success, where runners in three different categories raced to PNG’s highest peak.
“I issued certificates and cash prizes to the winners and runners-up,” Komba said.
He thanked the sponsors and Kundiawa-Gembogl MP and Tourism, Arts and Culture Minister Tobias Kulang for his continued support towards the race.
Komba also thanked parliamentary chairman of Tourism Promotion Authority and Kerowagi MP Camilus Dangma for his encouragement at the conclusion of the race.
Komba paid K7500 to winners, runners-up received K5000 and those in third place got K3000 in the three different categories of primary school, secondary, high and technical schools, and open division.
Six runners in each team ran the 42-kilometre race from Kundiawa town in a relay.
Dangma was given the honour to present medals and cash prizes to top three winners in each category.
Kulang said all runners who took part in the event were winners and declared that Mt Wilhelm race would become an annual event.
He acknowledged the contributions of everyone, including sponsors who made the race a success, especially organisers Komba, Willie Suglma and Vincent Don.
National Sports Institute (NSI) sports administrators John Hou, Philip Kamane and Morris Manai provided technical support to Komba and his team to deliver a successful race.
Barengigl, Gembogl and Duglpagl won in category one for primary schoolboys’ division while in the primary schoolgirls’ division Gembogl, Prinorkwa and Barengigl were the winners. In category two for high, secondary and technical schools, Mai High School, Ku High School and Kondiu Secondary won the first three places in the boys’ division, while in the girls’ division, Boromil High School, Mai High School and Kunabau won the major prizes. In the men’s open category, Olgan Brothers, Daka Squad and Simbange Brothers were victorious, while  the women’s open division was won by YDK Mothers, Muruks Sisters and MC Partners.

Leave a Reply