Southern league club championship finals set


THE Southern regional rugby league club championship will be on Dec 4 at the National Football Stadium.
Southern Confederate director Gwaibo Mairi said from the second round of elimination matches, four teams had already qualified for the finals — the Hohola Flies (Port Moresby Rugby League), Aroma Coast West (Central Premier League), JCI Titans (Gaire) and Seida Raiders (Rigo).
Mairi said the winners of the third elimination would advance to the PNG Rugby Football League national club championship on Jan 26 in Lae.
This week the Flies take on Titans while Aroma West face the Raiders.
The Flies and West are favoured to win their matches given their depth of talent and experience.
Mairi said the rounds of matches have had an anti-violence theme and he was pleased the message was getting out to fans and players alike.
“One thing good in the Southern regional club championships is that players and team management are respecting the referees and touch judges” Mairi said.
“The best thing about this championship is that is no cash prize on offer; the two winners get a trip to Lae in the New Year to play at a national level championship, with all expenses covered by the PNGRFL,” he said.
Mairi said the Southern Confederation was the first to complete calendar of events this year, with the regional club championships the last event.

Leave a Reply