Tigers run academy for Lae juniors


THE Lae Snax Tigers Academy programme for 2017 began on Monday with 40 players going through tests.
The players have been selected from schools in Lae. Some are from programmes already in place with the Lae School Boys and the PNGRFL junior development.
After threeweeks, the final 25 players will be revealed at the Tigers launching for the Digicel Cup and Academy.
This programme will run in line with the senior Tigers programme and focus on the next batch of Tigers in the years to come.
It is critical that the players maintain good academic results or they would be axed from the programme.
This is to ensure a balance between schooling and rugby.
The head of the programme is Dennis Miall, who is also the national women’s coach.
Miall’s experience at the school boy’s level makes him the best candidate for this programme. He will be assisted by technical expert Grant Rix.
The major sponsors are Lae Biscuit Company and the Morobe Provincial Government. Franchise owner Adrian Chow supports junior development and was keen to give the next generation of Tigers this opportunity.
Academy programme squad: Augustine Benson, Charlie Angu, Fredy Rex, Samson Paru, Macquinne Andrew (Bugandi), Amstrong Ralda (Southern), Benjamin Hekahu, Eddie Akwa, Emmanuel Penias, Stoney Wepo (LCC), Bungo Gena, Cedrick Maima, Conny Matt, Philip Khay, Morris Lesley, Jordan Irai, Gaudi Mai, Ishmael Tombene, Manu Pisimi, Pitesh Pesh, Romeny Agibe, Max Topani, Michael Kumai, Seth Peikili, Stanley Yapunda (Lae), Danny Yamala, Erick Yol, Jordan Ananias, Joshua John, Junior Andrew, McNigo Olkeng, Owen Mukale, Petrus Opo, Wenden Kipsy, Malcom Kamba (Busu), Henson Peter (Malahang), Himaiser Kerowa (Lae Secondary), Johnson Kuria, Joseph Konz, Mawa Mark (CIS).

Leave a Reply