Trio nominated for people’s choice


THREE Papua New Guinea players are in the running for this year’s Queensland Cup XXXX People’s Choice Award which officially opened yesterday.
SP PNG Hunters captain Ase Boas, Sunshine Coast Falcons’ Justin Olam and Redcliffe Dolphins’ Thompson Teteh were nominated by their clubs for fans to vote for them or any of the other nominees from the 14 clubs.
The clubs each nominated a key player from their 2017 team, with the focus now shifting to the competition’s passionate fans to select their favourite.
The player with the most votes will be announced as the XXXX People’s Choice recipient at the annual QRL awards dinner on Aug 30 at the Royal International Convention Centre in Brisbane.
Former Hunters’ flyer Justin Olam received a groundswell of support to win last year’s award.
The Hunters management nominated inspirational skipper Boas for this year’s award and the 28-year-old has a good chance of making it four People’s Choice award wins for the club with Willie Minoga (2014), Wartovo Puara (2015) and Justin Olam (2016) the last three winners.
Voting closes on Sun, Aug 27 at 8pm.
To learn more about the nominees and to submit votes, fans can visit the QRL website:
2017 People’s Choice award nominees: Matt White (Burleigh Bears); Krys Freeman (CQ Capras); Billy Walters (Easts Tigers); Wes Conlon (Ipswich Jets); Andrew Davey (Mackay Cutters); Graham Clark (Northern Pride); Delouise Hoeter (Norths Devils); Ase Boas (PNG Hunters); Thompson Teteh (Redcliffe Dolphins); Jamayne Isaako (Souths Logan Magpies); Justin Olam (Sunshine Coast Falcons); Carlin Anderson (Townsville Blackhawks); Ben Nakubuwai (Tweed Heads Seagulls); Peter Gubb (Wynnum Manly Seagulls).

Leave a Reply