Women’s teams Tarangau, Tigers draw 8-8 in PRL


IT is all over for Tarangau and Tigers who ended their season with an 8-8 in the Port Moresby Rugby League women’s competition at the National Football Stadium Oval 2 yesterday.
Both teams bowed out of the premiership race with much-improved performances to end the season on a high note.
They hugged each other and sat down and removed their boots to signal the end to the 2017 premiership campaign.
The other game between Dobo Warriors and Magani also ended in a scoreless draw, setting a record of sorts for the PRL women’s competition. Today Hawks will meet Souths in the early match while Sisters lock horns with Paga Panthers.
PRL women’s director Tora Ivora said the women’s competition with 11 teams would now enter into the top six playoffs
Ivora said after yesterday’s matches, Royals lead the points ladder with 27 awaiting Paga and Sisters to determine the minor premiers. Paga are on 26 points, Sisters 22, Butterflies 22, Hawks 20 and Souths 20.
He said the positions of the tally would change after today’s matches.
The five teams — West 17, Tarangau 15, Magani 11, Dobo Warriors 9, Kone Tigers 8 — are all out of the premiership race for this season.
Meanwhile, PRL board chairman Dr James Naipao is calling an urgent delegates meeting at NFS office at 6.30pm today.
It would discuss hosting of the finals matches for the Port Moresby Rugby League competition.

Leave a Reply