15 to contest Lule seat

Islands, Normal

The National, Tuesday November 5th, 2013

 A WOMAN will contest the Autonomous Bougainville government by-election for the Lule seat in Buin, South Bougainville.

Isabel Beta’s nomination takes the number of candidates to 15 since nominations opened last Wednesday.

Two former ABG ministers who resigned to contest the 2012 general election have been nominated to contest their former seats.

The Lule seat in Buin was left vacant after the death of Paul Mitu.

The Rao seat in Wakunai was left vacant after the death of Joseph Egilio.

The other seat in Peit was vacated by former premier Dr Alexius Sarei because of his age and health.

The seat for Hagogohe, on Buka Island was left vacant when Robert Hamal Sawa resigned to contest the general election.

The Kongara seat, in Central Bougainville, was vacated by Dominic Itta when he resigned to contest the Central Bougainville seat during the 2012 general election.

Nominations for the five seats will close on Nov 7 at 4 pm.

Candidates who have been nominated so far are: Sawa (Hagogohe), Augustine Retein (Hagogohe), Itta (Kongara), Paro (Peit), William Rauovi (Rao), Joel Vaviriata (Rao), Martin Kakito (Rao), Norrie Martin (Rao), Jimmy Gibson (Peit), Thomas Soagai (Peti), Thomas Tom Kathoa (Hagogohe), Simon RakeitHaoni (Peit), Beta (Lule), Greg Raivia (Rao) and Julian Nogos (Peit).