16 for MRDC 7s

Main Stories, Sports


THE MRDC National Rugby Sevens Tournament will bring Port Moresby’s Bava Rugby Park to life this weekend when 16 teams from around the country come together.
Thirteen provincial teams, a select Under 20 side, and two senior representative teams will compete in an invitational tournament format confirmed by the PNGRFU on Sunday afternoon.
The provincial teams include Lae, Rabaul, Goroka, Madang, newcomers Mendi, Porgera, Kerema, and the ever popular, Daru.
Kimbe and Buka from the NGI region are yet to confirm their participation, while former national champions Kavieng have not made any commitment as yet.
Other sides’ include an invitational team from the Aroma Coast, a combined PNGDF select side, a Highlands select side Aku Flyers and hosts and current national champions Port Moresby. 
PNG Rugby Union president, Richard Sapias, whilst confirming the national rugby event, made special mention of newcomers, Mendi, who competed the previous weekend in a tournament run by the PNGRFU in Mendi.
Sapias assured rugby supporters of an entertaining two days of free and fast flowing rugby at its best, if the Mendi tournament was any indication to go by.
The MRDC Sevens will provide provincial representative players the opportunity to vie for selection into the PNG Pukpuks Sevens Team which will be participating in the IRB-sanctioned Oceania Sevens in Tahiti on Nov 12 and13.
Meanwhile, POMRFU selected a strong 12-man side from the two-day SP Export Lager Sevens held over the weekend and won by Harleqiuns, in preparation for the MRDC Sevens this weekend.
The POM side: Avosa Kaipu, Teddy Elia, Emmanuel Auru, Chris Kakah, Isaac Wagoya, David Eri, Clyde Palmah, Jacob Wodo, Dominic Livuana, Charlie Maips, Dudley Agovaua, and Liyon Yakumbu.