17 PNG juniors make South Pacific side for U16 c’ships

Normal, Sports

The National – Tuesday, February 8, 2011

BUILDING on the success of the 2010 South Pacific team which competed in the NAB AFL U16 championships and the just completed 2010 Oceania Cup, AFL Queensland yesterday announce the 2011 South Pacific squad.
This squad comprises the best U18 talent participating in competitions conducted by the South Pacific affiliates and was selected by a panel, headed by coach David Lake and will take part in the 2011 NAB AFL U16 championships on July 14-17 in Sydney, Australia.
All players will be required to attend a pre-tournament live-in camp (July 4-8) prior to the championships commencing on the July 9.
Of the selected 36 players for the South Pacific Side, 17 are PNG nationals.
The list will be cut down by May 31 in preparation for the championships.
Walter Yangomina (AFLPNG manager)  said:  “What a great representation PNG has in the South Pacific side.
“Seventeen out of 36 players from all over the South Pacific is amazing.
“Winning the Oceania cup last December has really established PNG as a massive threat in AFL football.
“AFL has developed markedly over recent years, and our representation in this squad emphasises the point that we have reached a great level of football.”
PNG squad members of the 2011 South Pacific side: Slim Collins, Theo  Gavuri, Gideon Simon, Ezra Kautu, Scott Johnston, Nathan Malbak, Douglas Kaiwa, Max Lavai, Ezra Gotuno, Brendan  Beno, Jason Soong, Richard Stegman, Major Alphonse, Larry Nao, Naime Gordon, Joses Lawrence and Gilmour Lawrence
The players need to contact the AFLPNG office on 325 4943 or come to the AFLPNG office as soon as possible so that preparations can begin.