26 clubs set for NSL


WITH two more weeks left before the National Soccer League kicks off in their respective regions, 26 franchise clubs have been endorsed by the NSL management for the board’s approval.
Eight franchises are confirmed for the semi-professional competition to participate in the Southern Conference with eight clubs, seven clubs for Northern, five for New Guinea Islands and six for the Highlands.
According to NSL manager Leslie Babaga, the 26 franchises had been endorsed by the PNGFA and NSL management for the NSL board’s approval.
“The PNGFA/NSL management has acknowledge the 26 franchises and it’s now for the NSL board to give the final approval and endorsement of which teams will take part in the 2019 season,” Babaga said.
“The National Soccer League is expecting six teams from NGI and Highlands respectively while there is likely to be eight teams participating in Southern while the Northern Conference will have seven.”
However the deadline for expression of interest had been extended to Friday (Jan 18) for clubs to finalise their EOI for submission while the competition would start on Saturday (Jan 26) with a soft launch on Jan 25.
Southern Conference: Southern Strikers, Hekari United, Eastern Stars, Port Moresby United, PRK Gulf Komara, Central United, FC Bougainville, Star Mountain; Northern Conference: Toti City, Morobe United, FC Morobe Wawens, Besta PNG United, Lahi, Markham, Tusbab Stallions; Highlands: Aporro Mai, Enga Laima, Kagua Erave, Mt Hagen, Blue Kumuls, Simbu; New Guinea Islands: West Tribe, Admiralty Peliou, Chebu AROB, Radazz, Talasea.

Leave a Reply