28 councillors in Kewabi LLG declared winners of seats

National, Normal

The National, Friday July 26th, 2013

 TWENTY-eight councillors in the Kewabi local level government in Southern Highlands have been declared winners of their seats.

Assistant returning officer Samson Pulu said one councillor was declared unopposed, while 27 won their seats after counting.

He said counting for the Kewabi LLG presidents’ seats would be done in Ialibu when the Electoral Commission released the allowance for polling officials.

Pulu said polling officials were ready to conduct the counting for the presidents’ seats in Ialibu and were waiting for the funds to be released.

He said counting materials were not ready. 

Southern Highlands election manager David Wakias will decide when it will begin.

Pulu said they had received ballot boxes from the Ialibu district office and were waiting for directions from Wakias.

Meanwhile, East Pangia assistant returning officer Michael Ariando said the Molo LLG council ward was under dispute by candidates.

Ariando said after discussing the matter with polling officials and the election manager in the province, he would announce the winner.

Attempts to contact the Southern Highlands election manger to confirm the reports were unsuccessful.