Aussies rack up awards

Normal, Sports

The National, Monday 25th March 2013

 THE 2013 BSP Oceania Billiards and Snooker Championships ended in style with the awards presentation on Saturday at the Port Moresby Country Club.

With traditional dances from the Bouganville, Trobriand Islands and a break-dance crew the billiards and snooker players had a blast.

Papua New Guinea Billiards and Snooker Association president Peter Fong congratulated all the players, officials, referees and the organising committee for making the event such a successful one.

2013 BSP Oceania Billiards & Snooker championship awards:


Highest break – Matthew Bolton 452

Semi finalists – Vinnie Calabrese/Hassan Kerde; Runner-up – Steve Mifsud

Winner – Matthew Bolton


Highest break – Adrian Ridley 75

Semi-finalists – Matthew Bolton/Steve Mifsud; Runner-up – Vinnie Calabrese

Winner – Adrian Ridley



Highest beak – Vinnie Calabrese 130

Semi-finalists – Steve Mifsud/Ryan Thomerson; Runner-up – Matthew Bolton; Winner – Vinnie Calabrese


Highest break – Jessica Woods 38

Semi-finalists – Kerry de Pradines/Helen Samuel; Runner-up – Geua John

Winner – Jessica Woods

The men’s player of the tournament award went to 19-year-old Ryan Thomerson, while Kerry de Pradines won the women’s player of the tounrmanet award.

Presenting the awards was Minister for Sports and 2015 Pacific Games Justin Tkatchenko, who praised the PNGBSA and the Oceania Billiards & Snooker Federation for organising the event with such good governance and commitment towards the sport.

He thanked major sponsor BSP and the other support sponsors who helped in the making the 2013 BSP Oceania Billiards & Snooker titles a great one.

The next championship will be held next year either in Australia or New Zealand.