Basil, eight others join Melanesian Alliance

Main Stories

BULOLO MP and Finance Minister Sam Basil and eight other MPs who resigned from the Pangu Pati last week are now members of the Melanesian Alliance Party.
The nine are Basil, Rigo MP Lekwa Gure, Nawaeb MP Kennedy Wenge, Markham MP Koni Iguan, Menyamya MP Thomas Pelika, Sohe MP Henry Amuli, Lufa MP Moreape Kavori, Sumkar MP Chris Nangoi and Rai Coast MP Peter Sapia.
The parliamentary wing held their first caucus meeting yesterday and elected Basil parliamentary leader and Rigo MP Lekwa Gure as the deputy party leader.
Basil said they had to leave Pangu last week because of differences between the party executives and the MPs.
“After our exit from Pangu, the Melanesian Alliance requested us to join them and we accepted their invitation.”
The Pangu MPs, led by Morobe Governor Ginson Saonu, who have joined the Opposition camp are Morobe Governor Ginson Saonu, Lae MP John Rosso, Finschhafen MP Reinbo Paita, Tewai-Siassi MP Kobby Bomareo, Central Governor Robert Agarobe and Goilala MP Willian Samb.