Basketball federation names train-on squads for national teams


THE Basketball Federation of Papua New Guinea has announced the revised train-on-squads for the men’s and women’s national teams following the national championships held in Port Moresby last September.
President Karo Lelai said a final 10 to 12 players for the respective teams would be selected during a training camp scheduled for May or June to represent the country in the Fiba Melanesia Basketball Cup in Fiji in July.
Lelai said the Melanesia Cup was the qualifying event for next year’s Pacific Games in Solomon Islands and in order to secure a spot, PNG would have to finish the tournament in the first or second spot.
A list of over 50 players from both squads was provided by the selectors which was then divided into probables (primary players) and possibles (secondary) sides.
“Due to the Coronavirus (Covid-19) measures, resource constraints and the short lead time to the Melanesian Cup, only those in the probables list will be invited to participate in the training to select the final 10 -12 players,” Lelai said.
“In the event of injury, an athlete from the possibles list may also be called up.”
Lelai said she had already spoken to the respective head coaches regarding the development of the training programmes for the men’s and women’s squads.
“The PNG High Performance Centre and the PNG Olympic Committee were informed on the high performance services so team managers will liaise with them,” she said.
“Individual players and officials are required to fix their passports which should have more than six months left at the time of travel.
“Covid-19 vaccination is mandatory to travel as we have to comply with other country’s border (travel requirements).
“Also, there is a K2,000 levy fee for each official and player.
“The Olympic Committee has confirmed with the federation that K80,000 has been allocated for the men’s and women’s teams for preparation towards the Mela cup given that it’s the qualifiers for the Pacific Games.
“But airfares alone for a group of 30 will be at least K90,000 so levy fees and fundraising will assist with uniforms and training needs among other costs.”
Men’s squad: Apia Muri, Purari Muri, Cornelius Muri, Anderson Hewe, Ryan Tetemo, Obert Muri, Michael Henry, Moses Lune, James Banduru Jr, Manasseh Moere, Gabriel Elavo, Alu Kavo, Jordan Goasa, Joel Giali, Matineng Leahy, Christian Pang, Lloyd Wright, Liam Wright and Jimmy Struik, Ray Borner (head coach), Boyet Daroya (assistant coach), Nick Daroya (team manager); Women’s squad: Jane Tongia, Cindy Elavo, Emily Koivi, Marca Muri, Betty Wong, Japerth Tulapi, Normalisa Dobunaba, Nester Sape, Rosa Kairi, Susan Paisoi, Naomi Yambi, Lydia Gotuna, Denienne Bray, Hannah Kalua, Penninah Javapro, Magdalene Javapro, Mary Elavo Jr, Kalista Kotoveke, Sherah Yawasing, Louisha Wallace and Gloria Kaiwa, Moi Muri (head coach), Martha Aaron (assistant coach).