Basketball squads named for Noumea

Normal, Sports

The National, Monday, May 2, 2011

THE Papua New Guinea Basketball Federation named its 25-member training squad for men and women for the upcoming Pacific Games in Noumea, New Caledonia, in August.
The announcement was made by vice-president Emma Waiwai and the national development officer Ronnie Mea.
“After a thorough check with all appointed coaches in the country working with the athletes over the last four months, this will remain the final squads for both men and women,” Waiwai said.
The final teams of 12 players and three non-travelling reserves will be named on May 27.
A training camp has been scheduled for the May 25-29 in Port Moresby to finalise the travelling team.
“Players will be selected based on their level of fitness, skills, commitment to training and also are required to put up a levy fee of K 2,000.
“All selected athletes are encouraged to continue their commitment to training in the next three weeks in order to be selected in the final 12.”
Meanwhile, invitations are now open for expressions of interest for team coaches and managers for the 2012 Oceania Youth Games.
Interested individuals may submit their EOIs to PNG Basketball Federation or to the PNG Sports Federation. Applications can also be submitted to the PNG Sports Foundation Office at the Sir John Guise stadium in Port Moresby.
For further information please contact the PNG Basketball Federation secretary Sere Kala on 7216 4639 or the national development officer on 7637 2974 or 3251126 extension: 220.
The PNG Basketball Federation women’s squad: Karo Maha-Lelai, Julie-Anne Diro, Nape Waka, Emily Koivi, Marcia Muri, Dianne Hani, Susan Paisoi, Louisa Wallace, Ronnie Pomat, Nellie Jamsop, Jenny Magatu, Mary Elavo, Opa Eko, Emma Daroa, Jenny Maroroa, Veronica Ole, Ethel Narua, Richanda Idau, Nanai Nao, Sima Kariko, Jenna Travertz, Hekoi Trudi, Hennah Kuwimb, Doris Wingi and Grace Wong. Coach is Veitu Diro, assistant by Salape Parapa and Maria Coombs is the manager.
The men’s squad: Wally Parapa, Peter Davani, Dia Muri, Apiah Muri, Robert Kave, Joseph Elavo, Lawrence Lahari, James Ipassi, Purari Muri, Michael Nao, Richard Arava, Sibona Kala, Soi Ben, Donald Kala, Mika Loko, Xavier Wablasu, Rex Mohu, Eke Kendi, Veuga Taviri, Jonathan Orme, Slieve Mohu, Wayne Aaron, Percy Aaron, Ferdinand Daroya (coach), Nick Daroa (assistant) and Kala (manager).