Besta Utd youngsters enjoy memorable 2010-11 season

Normal, Sports

The National, Tuesday, April 12, 2011

THE 2011 Telikom National Soccer League was a success and a memorable year for the PNG soccer development team, Besta PNG United.
They missed out on a place in the NSL grand final but their pair of youngsters and the team had plenty to celebrate for.
Besta United dominated by PNG U20 players are heading for the Oceania U20 qualifier for the FIFA World Cup later in the year.
Besta midfielder Emmanuel Simon picked up the 2010-11 NSL player of the year award for the second season while teammate and 20-year-old student and striker Jamaal Seeto won the golden boot award.
Seeto was presented with his prize at an official awards ceremony by National Soccer League chairman John Kapi Natto.
Seeto has established a reputation for himself as a strong leader both on and off the field and is a good role model for the rest of the players.
Besta team manager Stanley Khanna was full of praise for Seeto and believed the award would not have gone to a more worthy recipient.
Midfielder and teammate Simon was also acknowledged for his impressive season by being named player of the series.
He described Simon, 18, as a skillful player with good organisational skills.
“Simon’s performance and skill have made a big difference to the team,” Khanna said.
“We are positive that he will be able to take on the role of team captain one day.”
“If these boys combine with experienced players like David Muta it will make a strong team.”
“When Jamaal and Emmanuel are in camp together they inspire everyone  – they know what is expected of them.”
The PNG U20 side: Jacob Senat (Petro Souths), Soma Kairi, Japeth Tiamp, Malakai Ben, Tweedy Inia, Vincent Worio, Bari Turi, Emmanuel Simon, Max Sengum, Jacob Sabua, Nigel Morris, Vanya Malagian, Freddy Steven, Nigel Dabinyaba  (Besta Utd), Mathew Junior, Brett Seriba, Lap Emble, Bruce Kusanan (Gigira Laitepo), Alwin Komolong (overseas player), Ricksen Maleng and Mathew Bokari (non-travelling reserves).
The team management: Max Foster (head coach), Steven Yagum (assistant coach), Stanley Khanna (manager) and Philip Keriaka (physio-therapist).


Leave a Reply