Board appoints interim directors

The National, Tuesday July 19th, 2016

THE Cocoa Board of Papua New Guinea (CBPNG) inducted in its newly appointed interim board directors at a ceremony yesterday in Port Moresby.
The board chairman is Agriculture and Livestock Secretary Dr Vele Pat Ila’ava and the directors are National Planning and Monitoring Secretary Hakaua Harry, representing cocoa growers from Bougainville region Romeo Tohiana, representing cocoa growers from momase region Ray Gima and representing cocoa growers from New Guinea Islands region Patrick Dissing.
The directors were sworn in by magistrate Ernest Wilmott.
Ila’ava said the three directors, together with the Government’s appointed members, would add value in addressing the cocoa industry’s challenges in Papua New Guinea including mobilising farmers and cocoa technologies to maximise cocoa quality and increased production for trade.
The five board members were appointed by Agriculture and Livestock Minister Tommy Tomscoll under the Cocoa Act.
This was done after consultation with relevant industry participants including cocoa growers in cocoa producing provinces.