Capital rugby names 60-strong train-on squad

Normal, Sports

The National, Thursday February 27th, 2014

 THE Capital Rugby Union (CRU) has named a 60 man training squad to prepare for the forthcoming National Provincial Championships Sevens tournament on March 15-16 in Port Moresby.

The players were selected from the three weekends of competition.

From the 60 players, it is envisaged that six teams will be identified for trial matches this weekend as the first part of the selection process.

Selectors will have a final look at players performing during the Brothers 40th anniversary sevens, before they finalise two teams for the championships. The squad: Jacob Wodo, Billy Torea, Jeremy Eri, La’a Thomas, Ricky Vaina, Andrew Karani, David Kwalam, Abos Hezure, Joshua Vakona, Michael Gawi, Sen Hugo Jnr (Nova), Getsi Raka, Nelson Kauna, Mara Katam, Clint Kut, Demas Kenny, Boas Roboam (Brothers), Dean Manale, Emmanuel Susuve, Jack Raboni, Stanis Susuve, Tui Fitiao (Cowboys), Frank Gabi Jnr, Nelson Geno (Crusaders), Bobby Bulumaris, Adeck Naio, Steward Yamami, Robert Boli, Lua Terry, Hanley Messea, Dudley Agovau (Defence), Jules Bonit, Jessy Wayne, Trevor Augustine (Juggernauts), Freddy Andale, Arthur Igag, Emmanuel Kipma, Koro Seta, Tisa Kautu, Junior Kautu, Jolami Tuwai (Harlequins), Simon Norman, Richard Brendan, Beron Kengi, Sylvester Tumoni (Wanderers), Joey Vagi, Geno Susuve (University), Kore Gerega, Mathew Owadeba (Motuan Warriors), Sawi Sukumbal, Bradley Gimots, Johnny Horope, Johnson Langogo, Givin Andy, Junior Arova, Jason Larry (Spartans), Willie Talim, Gerard Junias, Karo Tuva (La Sallians). 

All players are asked to be present at Monier Bava Park this afternoon at 5pm for briefing and training run.