Central league teams forfeit winnings

The National,Thursday June 30th, 2016

CENTRAL Premier League chairman Jack Kedea, pictured, and his executives forfeited the cash prize money to Rigo Magani and Aroma East because they did not meet the team affiliation and players registration requirements.
Kedea told The National that media organisations should be fair in their dissemination of information to the general public as a report regarding the matter in the other daily was misleading and untrue.
Kedea said Rigo Magani did not comply with the requirements with an outstanding affiliation fee of K2000 and K1050 in player registrations from 2014 and 2015 season while Aroma East owed fees for last year.
“The affiliation fee is K200 and not K15,000 as reported by Rigo Magani coach Wesley Matawa and supported by president Albert Adila.
“I have told both teams to settle these fees but they were ignorant and why should CPL honour them the plate winners of K15,000 and K5000 respectively.
“For this reason, CPL will not award the cash prizes to them because they are not affiliated and players are unregistered,” Kedea said.
“These cash prizes are forfeited to CPL and will not be presented unless both teams settle the outstanding fees and this season’s affiliation and registration fees.
“The CPL executives will not entertain these attitudes by poorly managed teams becuase it undermines the competition and we don’t want to condone this behaviour.”
Last season, champions Porebada Bulldogs, runners-up Aroma Coast, Keleone and  Tubusereia Titans were awarded prizes because they met the full requirements.