Central win netball crown

Normal, Sports


CENTRAL made the clean sweep at the 2010 Digicel PNG Netball championships in Madang.
Except for U15 and Masters, Central won all the age group division grand finals in the junior and the senior events at Laiwaden Oval recently.
Tournament director Boe Lahui said yesterday that netball was no longer dominated by Port Moresby and Lae.
“This is the year for Central and congratulations should go to everyone involved in ensuring Central became the netball queens this year,” he said.
Central province started to dominate in the junior division by winning U13, U17 and U21 division finals and continued their supremacy taking out the A and B grade crowns.
In the U13 divisions, Central led by Schola Morabang beat archrivals Poreporena 19-16, Poreporena down Central 18-14, but came back strongly in U17 to beat Madang 21-15 and in the U21, Central pipped Port Moresby in a photo-finish grand final 16-15.
In the senior division, Central Two edged Port Moresby One 14-13 to win the championships.
And in the B grade division, Central defeated Lae 14-8 while in the Masters, Poreporena denied Central another crown with a 16-11 defeat.
Meanwhile, PNG Netball Federation under new president Julianne Leka-Maliaki has announced the U21 training squad.
The squad: Rayleen Andrew, Gase Moka, Nancy Kapi, Mary Fong, Helen Wagambie (Port Moresby), Kinibo Baroa, Elianna Hoge, Boe Vahu, Tautau Raga (Lakatoi), Dorcas Ilagi, Rhoda Kerea, Olive Jonah, Florence Genolagani, Rau Galewa, Velda Duma, Kali Alu (Central), Gilian Liwuan, Selisa Lili, Regina Winas and Lora Niggs (Lae), Philemona Naine (Kairuku-Hiri), Kope Mapo (Kiunga), Linnesa Pouna (Alotau), Geua Gavera (Poreporena), Sulviana Morris, Tania Yama, Alice Yumong and Nialewen Pawaseu (Madang).
Maliaki took over the reigns from Emily Taule. Other members of the executives are Hitolo Moka (senior vice-president), Caroline Genia (junior vice-president), Mona-Lisa Leka (secretary) and Dianne Kila (treasurer).