Commissioner returns 10 by-election writs to Niningi


ACTING Electoral Commissioner Simon Sinai yesterday returned the by-election writs for 10 local level government (LLG) wards in various provinces to Inter-Government Relations Minister Pila Niningi.
The LLG writs returned were for six wards in East New Britain, two wards in Milne Bay, one in Gulf and one in Central after completion.
Sinai said only eight wards completed their by-elections and two were failed.
The two failed ones are Top Town in Alotau Urban LLG and Lavora ward in the Maramantana LLG in Milne Bay.
“These two ward by-elections were failed because no one was nominated to contest at the close of nominations.”
“This is very sad because it simply showed that nobody was not interested in representing their people in their very own local communities at LLG level,” he said.

Leave a Reply