Department recognises schools

National, Normal

The National – Friday, December 10, 2010

By TROY TAULE UPNG journalism student
SIXTEEN schools were yesterday handed certificates by the Education Department recognising them as permitted schools.
Manager of basic education services and chairman of permitted schools in the Education Department Michael Menri presented the certificates to the schools which include Nonu Primary, St Anne Elementary and Mesauka Secondary in Eastern Highlands.
Menri said that many schools were still awaiting approval from the education department because they had yet to meet the guidelines set out to qualify to become a permitted school.
However, he mentioned that a factor to the hold up was a result of not enough awareness carried out to schools about the set guidelines.
Menri said those schools permitted meant they could apply for funding from donor agencies or the government as well as send their teachers to training facilities to enhance their skills.
Chairman of Waigani Christian School Allan Jim thanked the Education Department saying that his school, as well as other privately-run schools, are now able to provide a second option of education for children to further their education.