Eight for NSL

Main Stories, Sports


EIGHT soccer franchises have registered for the 2010 Telikom National Soccer League (NSL).
Six teams have submitted their receipt of nomination while newcomers Moresby Casino House FC (formerly CMSS Tigers) and Madang United FC are yet to submit their required forms.
Registered teams include champions Hekari United FC, Gigira Laitepo Morobe FC, Besta United FC, Eastern Star FC, Tukoko University Lae and debutant Petro Souths FC.
PNGFA  manager Edward Tauloi, who oversees the operation of NSL, confirmed yesterday that only six teams had paid their non-refundable K5,000 with their expression of interest.
Tauloi said though NSL secretariat had received eight teams, only seven teams would make the semi-professional competition as per their PNGFA executive meeting in improving the standard of football.
He also confirmed that Gelle Hills and Esiloan University Inter FC have been booted out of the competition after failing to register their interest. It would mean that Uni and Hills players will have to move to other teams for the new season.
Meanwhile, Hekari United management will discuss matter regarding their guest player and Solomon Islands international Henry Fa’orodo carefully.
It is understood Hekari will hold discussions with the star midfielder because of his pending commitment to Solomon Islands domestic side Koloale FC.
Fa’orodo previously agreed to play for Hekari in December’s  FIFA Club World Cup in Dubai in the United Arab Emirates.
Hekari franchise owner John Kapi Natto said for the O-League campaign, his management and Faro’odo had yet to discuss that arrangement as well.
“I’m confident an agreement will eventually be reached next month before the September signings of all NSL players. I will get back to you regarding this matter but most significantly, he will go with the team to the FIFA Club World Cup.”


Leave a Reply