Five Gurias to play sevens

Normal, Sports


FIVE Agmark Gurias have been include in the East New Britain Rugby Union (ENBRFU) Association’s 29-man squad  to take part in the National Sevens set for Kokopo on Dec 11-12.
Boas Ruru, Jeffrey Vinavel, Pidi Togap, Chris Jerry and Sakias Kambange are all regular Gurias players with Togap a Kumul who played in the Four Nations.
ENBRFU coordinator Ian Leklek said the squad had been split in two final teams which are Kaias 1 and 2.
The former Pukpuk said both teams have been training at the Kokopo Secondary School oval this week and would continue until the tournament.
He said the competition would be very intense as the country’s best Sevens players would converge on Kokopo but was confident the players selected would compete well.
Defending champions Kimbe Rebels are the favourites for the title after sweeping other  regional titles during the year and have been the most active sevens team in the country.
The ENBRFU sevens squad is: Kaias one – Kamel Rolly, Vinavel, Noel Litur, Kambange, James Lumaris, Jacky Markus, Israel Eliab, Albert Patak, Pat Issac, Jerry, Jason Billie, Jason Missien, Ruru, Pidian Bomaka and Kaias two –Tim Masiu Jr, Sammy Lapan, Togap, Michael Pau, Daniel Topita, Jacky Moro, Jacky Tokom, Melky Tetenge, Robert Sevua, John Rolly, Hensley Peter, Jersey Savirita, Hosea Alfred, Alfred Lumaris and J D James.
Sixteen teams are expected to participate with 10 teams  from Rabaul (hosts), Kimbe, Kavieng, Buka, Madang plus a Barbarians side comprising fringe and national players confirmed while six – Goroka, Hagen, Daru, Alotau, Port Moresby and Lae yet to confirm their participation.