Five in Morobe polls go into elimination process

National, Normal

The Nationa, Monday July 16th, 2012

PRELIMINARY counts for five electorates in Morobe province have been completed with each seats conducting quality checks or heading into the elimination process to declare a winner.
Markham, Kabwum, Nawaeb and Tewai-Siassi have already done quality checks on all their votes and are currently in the elimination process to declare their next member of parliament.
Finschhafen was supposed to undergo quality checks after the preliminary counting but was suspended after scrutineers boycotted the process.
According to returning officer for Finschhafen Sam Egam, all quality checks would now resume today.
In Markham open electorate, Paul Isikiel is the new MP. Isikiel was declared by returning officer Simon Soheke, at 7.15pm yesterday at the counting centre at the Markham Valley High School.
Isikiel beat sitting member Koni Iguan with 11,373 votes to pass the 50% plus one majority mark.
Isikiel collected 756 votes after David Iriap, the candidate in third place was eliminated.  
Results for Menyamya on count 25 out of the 28 ballot boxes has sitting member Benjamin Phillip leading with 4,736 votes, followed by Enoch Ulack 4,272, Andrew Noyao 3,369 votes and Julius Ikoliso 3,576.
With three more boxes to go, counting in Menyamya is progressing well and it is expected to carry out quality checks tomorrow.
Counting for Huon Gulf and Lae Open have been suspended and will resume today.