Four on Japanese scholarship

National, Normal


THE Government of Japan has granted scholarships to four Papua New Guineans to study in Japan.
They  are Martha Sangau, David Wari, Cecily Kome and Miriam Nenita Hera-Griffin.
Ms Sangau and Mr Wari will commence studies this month to March 2012, while Ms Kome will start in September to June 2012.
Ms Griffin will commence this month to March 2013.
The students will be taking up studies at the Graduate school of Human Sciences, Osaka University, Graduate school of International Relations, International University of Japan, Graduate School of Natural Science and Technology, Okayama University and Nippon Engineering College of Hachioji.
Ms Sangau, Mr Wari and Ms Hera-Griffin will depart Port Moresby for Osaka, Japan today while Ms Kome leaves in September.
Since its inception, more than 135 Papua New Guineans have benefited under the Japanese government sponsored scholarship.
Deputy chief of mission, Kazunori Kawada, said the scholarship recipients would undergo their studies for two to three years according to their specific programme.
“The awarding of this scholarship to the past, current young and promising Papua New Guineans is definitely in line with our government’s policy and I am convinced that you will dedicate yourselves not only to academic achievements but to the continuous promotion of goodwill and friendship with the Japanese people,” Mr Kawada said.