Geckos named for tourney

Normal, Sports

The National, Wednesday July 1st, 2012

CRICKET PNG announced 14 players for the East Asia Pacific (EAP) U17 cricket championship in Fiji from Aug 27.
The Geckos will be led by all rounder Riley Hekure, who strung some impressive performances for the Brian Bell Bulldogs in the recently completed Hebou Shield in Port Moresby.
He will have the services of young leg spinner Ruma Igua and top bowler Allen Joseph from Lae.
Players to watch out for are off-spinner Tony Buruka, who had several outstanding performances for the Digara Diggers also in the Hebou Shield and promising left arm fast bowler Nosaina Pokana who towers at 1.93m and is likely to cause havoc against the Fijian and Vanuatu batsmen with his pace and bounce.
On the batting front Mea Jimmy is the player to the Geckos will rely on.
He will be ably supported by batsman Kiplin Doriga, who had a fine season with Digara.
All rounder Sakavai Gebai, who finished second to Barramundis’ paceman Joel Tom for the most wickets in the Hebou Shield, is expected to continue his commanding form especially with the ball.
The tournament will be played in Twenty/20 format and the Geckos will be up against Vanuatu and Fiji. 
PNG are the current U17 East-Asia Pacific champions having won the tournament in Vanuatu in 2010.
The EAP U17 tournament has proven to be a success for Cricket PNG as this is the stepping stone for potential players to be identified to progress to the next age group and further on to try to stake their claim to earn a PNG Barramundis “baggy black”.
The Geckos squad: Riley Hekure (captain), Sakavai Gebai, Gaudi Toka, Mea Jimmy, Hiri Hiri, Nuana Nuana, Kiplin Doriga, Tom Willie, Mauri Mauri, Allen Lawes, Allan Joseph, Ruma Igua, Tony Buruka and Nosaina Pokana.