Gulf names athletics squad

The National, Wednesday July 6th, 2016

THE Gulf Athletics Association named its 40-man squad for Team Gulf for the 7th PNG Games in Kimbe, West New Britain.
The 36 athletes and four officials were announced after the completion of the provincial athletics championships at Malalaua High School over the Queen’s Birthday weekend last month.
Association president Lily Tua Pokana said yesterday, the 18 men’s and 18 women’s athletes, most of them students, would have their first training camp next week (July 13-15) at Malalaua High School.
Tua Pokana thanked the PNG Sports Foundation for its support in staging the first athletics championship in the province, which was attended by 16 clubs representing schools and council wards.
Due to time constraints, not all council wards in the province were able to send teams to the event.
Port Moresby-based athletics clubs Keremish and Baikiks, which are comprised of athletes of Gulf origin, also attended the Malalaua championship.
“Next year we’re expecting more teams.”
She said there were some good times recorded at the event and was hopeful about Team Gulf’s prospects at the PNG Games.
“We are aiming for one or two medals in athletics.”
Team Gulf athletics squad:
Male: Benjamim Haiveta (100m, 200m, 4x100m), Dwyan Bauli (100m, 200m, 4x100m), Paul Kari (javeline, shot put), Nelson Miai (100m, 200m, 4x100m), Eugene Haiveta (400m, 4x400m), Marl Mark (shot put, javeline, discus), Alfie Max (3000m), Peter Baki (3000m,5000m), Godfrey Haro (400m hurdles, 4x400m), Suve Lauhari (400m, 4x400m), Troy Kiripope (400m, 4x400m), Iso Simbabe (5000m, 10,000m), Ricky Ope (800m), Junior Rocky (800m, 1500m), Emmanuel Karikara (javeline), Benjamin Torika (long jump, triple jump), Branthon Max (long jump, triple jump), Sarufa Vipi Zejuk (shot put, discus, hammer); Female: Agnes Hurae (400m, 4x400m), Pamela Kose (200m, 4x100m), Margaret Paul (100m, 200m, 4x100m) Zipporah Maito (100m, 200m, 4x100m), Josephine Maiape (200m, 4x100m, shot put), Daine Isou Ugaya (800m, 1500m), Elizabeth Aua (high jump), Helen Lare (400m, 4x400m), Jane Havae (400m, 4x400m), Justine Kuisa (400m, 4x400m), Agatha Simon (shot put, discuss), Rennie Eite (1500m, javelin), Becky Paul (high jump), Ware Sarufa (discus), Berleen Kerut (javelin, long jump, heptathlon), Susan Luke (long jump, triple jumb), Aluisiah Opu (shot put), Josta Memafu (800m).
Officials: Luly Tua Pokana (team manager), George Malaisa (technical officer), Harry Omohae (head coach), Kamaua Karara (assistant coach).