Hammerheads name side

Normal, Sports

The National, Thursday 13th September, 2012

MOROBE rugby union has selected 27 players for  the provincial team, Morobe Hammerheads, for the provincial 15s championship.
The championship to be held at SCRUM oval in Lae over the Independence weekend will see only four provincial teams contesting the title.
The Hammerheads’ young guns coming through the SCRUM schoolboys’ programme will be guided by old timers Albert Kaupa, Michael Muriki, Young Dickson, John Milba and Ian Gore in the forwards.
The experienced Joseph Wamapiri in the backline will control the scrum-base while the inclusion of Elias Roboam at wing and current sevens player Jason Misian at fullback strengthen the home side.
The Hammerheads side: Leslie Winuan, Muriki, Dickson, Milba, Kini Roy Yaki, Clifford Vali, Edgar Monguru, Ryan Sambat, Wamapiri, Francis Maso, Sail Pennington, Karo Kauna, Foster Laurie, Roboam, Misian, Armstrong Dickson, Richard Songake, Mikes Mire, Gore, Ronald Tiriman, Kaupa, Meta Roboam, Sowe Waulus, Eddie Mekle, Butler Lokora, Raymond Tau and Elias Labi.
Richard Pomare will coach the side and will be assisted by Jeff Lung with Manu Rawali as team manager.