Higaturu blitz in eighth innings to claim title

Normal, Sports

The National, Wednesday 03rd April 2013


POPONDETTA Women’s Softball hot favourites Higaturu Oil Palms Pty Ltd (HOPPL) seven home runs in the eighth inning tie-breaker was enough to tame CC Web 11-6 in the grand final on Sunday.  

It was double honours as they bagged the minor premiers tag to end a successful season.

In the men’s division, CC Web were too strong for TT Bears, winning 10-4.

The seven home getters were Monica Paheki, Joan Polume, Rol­lina Jivo, Lavi Tataembo, Marian Kansan, Cathy Ambo and Mary Temu. 

It went down to the wire as after the third inning both teams were locked 4-4 and the next three innings were scoreless.

Web scored in the opening inning with three runs and a single in the second to lead 4-0.

HOPPL hit back in the third inning, equalising with four of their own.

The team from Siroga, in Higaturu LLG dominated by workers from HOPPL went up a gear when it mattered in the tie breaker.

Men’s and women’s awards pre­sented after the finals had the best and fairest going to Elvie Arnold and Tewong Mokis, rookies of the year were Junior Ruga and Serah Uduru, the top pitchers was Remus Aurepa and Cathy Ambo, best outfielder was Ariel Beinz and Julia Kopoe, the best infielders were Farapo Makura and Honah Ageda and the most improved team was Tarangau.