Honda is third time winner in Bamfield Enduro race

Normal, Sports

The National – Thursday, December 2, 2010

FOR the third year in a row, Honda has taken out the gruelling Boroko Motors Bamfield Enduro held recently at the Warrior Wing Land warfare centre at Goldie Barracks outside Port Moresby.
This was the last event held on the Port Moresby Motorcycle Club’s calendar, and certainly, delivered on its promise of being punishing.
After the dust had settled on day two, Honda rider Mal Woods took first place clocking up 28 laps in the total eight-hour time frame in what had been described as PNG’s toughest off-road motorcycle event.
The aim was for the riders to clock up as many laps as possible over an eight-hour period. 
The event was divided into two by four hour events over Saturday and Sunday, allowing riders time to carry out  repairs to both their motorcycles and themselves.
As the event wore on and the temperature soared, riders were stopping briefly at the check point to re-hydrate only to push themselves back into the race to maintain their positions.
The event offered two rider categories, an Iron Man Class, in which one individual rider tackles the entire event himself and a team’s event called a Pony Express Class, in which two riders can take turns (lap about) to complete the event .
Father and son team, Kevin and Bryce Hollis, set a blistering pace around the course with son Bryce wowing the local spectators with his ‘big air’ and putting the local riders on notice that their was a new kid in town.
At 2pm, a Honda mounted Woods crossed the line to take the K5,000 prize money later presented by Boroko Motors manager Shane Boyce.
In the South Pacific Motor Sports Pony Express Class, the Hollis took first place with visiting riders Paul Hanratty and Rahui Reeves in  second.
Club president Peter Jackson said this year capped off a brilliant year for the club and looked forward to next year.
The Boroko Motors Bamfield Enduro Iron Man Class crown went to  Woods  on his Honda XR400 with a total of 28 laps, with Daan Van Pletzen on a KTM CRF 450 with 22 laps, to finish runner-up while third place went to Chris Pevy on his Honda CRF 450 securing 20 laps.