Isou take pole spot


GULF Isou took the top spot for the first time in the club’s history after they shut out Enga Mioks 20-0 at the Santos National Football Stadium in Port Moresby yesterday.
They are now the only side who are yet to lose in the 12-team Digicel Cup this season after reigning champions Lae Tigers surrendered the top spot in their 14-30 loss to hosts Rabaul Gurias on Saturday.
It was the fourth-straight win for the Roger Laka-coached side, who also kept Goroka Lahanis scoreless in the the previous round.
This means Petroleum Resources Kutubu-sponsored Isou have now gone nearly three hours without conceding a point. After the round-four home win, Laka commended his men for their defence.
“We dug deep in defence which got us wins against the Mioks and Lahanis,” the former SP Hunters playmaker said.
“I am happy with how we attacked, we played according to the game plan and we got the result that we wanted.
“We are improving every week.
“I still think there are some weaknesses that we need to improve on, so we will work on those during the week.”
Isou centre Eliakim Lukara opened the scoring with a try seven minutes in.
Second-rower Nicky Pilyo scored another unconverted try 12 minutes from halftime as Isou led 8-0. After the break, Isou picked up from where they left off as bench utility Jerry Teme spun his way over to score a try under the uprights.
His brother David Joseph ensured a successful conversion for a 14-0.
Man-of-the-match Joseph kicked a penalty goal a few minutes later as he extended the lead to 16.
Winger Charlie Horope crossed over for another unconverted try five minutes from fulltime to put the result beyond doubt.
The Mioks exhausted their game plan to score points, but the visitors were contained across the park by a determined Isou outfit.
Results: Sat, May 14 – Gurias 30 Tigers 14; Sun, May 15 – Wigmen 32 Muruks 16, Eagles 13 Cutters 12, Lahanis 22 Dabaris 20, Isou 20 Mioks 0, Tumbe 10 Vipers 10.