Journalists recognised for efforts this year

National, Normal

The National – Monday, December 6, 2010

TWO journalists from The National are among a group of eight practising journalists and a photographer who were recognised for their efforts this year.
Senior court reporter Julia Daia Bore received the court reporter of the year award while Angeline Karius was named rookie of the year at the annual media awards night in Port Moresby last Thursday.
One of the judges, John Toguata, said it was tough to come up with the winners from the number of applicants as most of the practitioners were professional journalists with credible reputations.
“While five of us are privileged to be judges for the media awards this year, it was difficult to choose from the applications that were submitted,” Toguata said.
He said the judges had to carefully examine every applicant based on the terms of reference to come up with the final winners.
Wantok Niuspepa photographer Nicky Bernard bagged the William Williando photographer of the year award, an award dedicated to long-time photographer with The National.
Williando passed away this year.
Other awards went to Simon Eroro (politics); Toa Sime (health);
Maureen Gerawa
(education); Harlyne Joku (environment); Gabriel Bego (investigative journalism);
Meredith Kusa (sports); and Patrick Levo (features).
The other special awards given included the Pacific Islands News Association president’s award, television programme of the year award, radio programme of the year award and the best radio entertainment
production award.
Other awards were cancelled because only one or two people applied.
Toguata said the judges had also recommended that more categories and awards be created next year for others working behind the scene.