Junior netball championships set to tip off

The National,Monday July 4th, 2016

THE Junior Netball Championships sponsored by the National Gaming Control Board has its official opening ceremony today for the three-day tournament which ends on Wednesday.
Games will be staged in Port Moresby at the Rita Flynn Netball Courts.
It will be the first time that the junior championship will be held as a standalone tournament.
Netball PNG hopes that by holding a separate championship more focus can be placed on junior development and talent identification.
To date over 56 teams have been confirmed from 12 associations and tournament organisers expect this to increase to just over 60 teams across the Under-13, U15, and U17and U21 divisions.
This includes newcomers the Jiwaka Netball Association, while the return of Goroka and Oro netball teams will add variety to the junior tournament.
NCD Governor Powes Parkop will officiate at the opening ceremony starting 9am.
Ms PNG & Pacific Islands Ms Abigail Havora will give the keynote address. Strong contenders for this year’s titles are Port Moresby, Lae, Central and Alotau.
A number of activities will complement the event including a coaching accreditation course, umpire accreditation course, a first aid management course and a two-day U21 selection camp from July 7-8.
Opening Ceremony Programme:
7.30-8.30am Arrival of Teams &Assemble at Rita Flynn Netball Courts; 8.30am-9am Arrival of Guests and VIPs; 9am March Past by Teams; Light Entertainment; 9.20am Introductory Remarks by Master of Ceremony; Opening Prayer by Marama Martha Pala, B.U.C; National Anthem, Athletes Oath & Officials Oath; 9.25 am Welcome Remarks by Host – President, Port Moresby Netball Association, Mr Roy Mulina; 9:30am Vote of Thanks by Junior Vice President of Netball PNG – Mrs. Hacy Abel; 9.35am Speech by Naming Rights Sponsor – CEO, Ms Imelda Agon; 9.40am Key Note Message by Ms PNG & Pacific Islands – Ms Abigail Havora; 9.50am Message and Declaration of Opening of the 2016 NGCB National Junior Netball Championships by NCD Governor Powes Parkop; 10.00am Tournament begins.