K3.5m rebate for power consumers

Business, Main Stories

PNG Power Ltd (PPL) is paying a K3.5 million rebate to power consumers in the form of electricity units to compensate them for poor power services in 2007.
This was announced by the company in a statement, explaining that the rebate is required under the electricity regulatory contract.
Eligible for the rebate payments are consumers within Zone 1 and Zone 2.
However, PPL said that all the isolated diesel centres received reliable power services during the period in question and are not eligible for rebate.
Zone 1 included Port Moresby, Rabaul, Lae, Madang, Yonki, Kainantu, Goroka, Kundiawa, Mt Hagen, Wabag and Mendi and Zone 2 included Wewak and Kimbe.
PPL said customers on EasiPay system may have realised that rebates had already been paid in the form of additional units equivalent to the rebate amount being issued upon purchase of power.
“The credit meter customers have had deductions equivalent to the rebate amount made against their accounts which will be shown on their monthly bills,” PPL said.
The rebate payment and this year’s electricity tariff reduction (by Independent Consumer and Competition Commission) are exercises being undertaken by PPL to accomplish its regulatory obligations required by the electricity regulatory contract.
“PNG Power is taking measures to minimise rebate payments by putting in place strategies to improve reliability of electricity.
“A lot more resources have been allocated for maintenance, refurbishment and augmentation of power supply facilities and new capital expenditure projects will also be undertaken to improve reliability of power supply and to effectively meet the ever increasing demand for electricity.”
PPL said these developments would take time to accomplish but PPL wanted its customers and the general public to be assured that it knows what the problems are, thus it is taking actions accordingly.