Karate titles attracts 22 clubs

Normal, Sports

The National, Friday July 5th, 2013

 TWENTY-TWO clubs from 12 provinces will attend the 24th National Karate championships at the Sir John Guise stadium this weekend. 

PNG Karate Federation president Carl Mari said the tournament will be a pre-selection competition in preparation for the 2015 Pacific Games.  

Mari said the athletes who are selected would be slotted into four groups (A-C).  

Group A is designated as the top group from which selections will be made however fighters selected into the other groups can still be promoted to the A team based on performances.

The provinces confirmed to attend are: the Autonomous Region of Bougainville (AROB) – Buka Shotokan Karate Club, Central Province – Space Christain Karate, Lifeline Karate, Papa village Shotokan Karate and Bereina TKU Karate Club; Eastern Highlands – Goroka Shotokan Karate, Henganifi Shotokan Karate Club; East New Britain – Kokopo Shotokan Karate Club; East Sepik – Wewak Shotokan Karate Club; Madang – Madang Shotokan Karate and Sumkar Karate Club;   Manus – Lorengau Shotokan Karate Club and Lombrum Shotokan Karate Club; Morobe – RAM Shotokan, Markham Adzera Shotokan, Lahi Shotokan Karate, Lae Shotokan Karate, Bulolo Shotokan Karate, Unitech Goju Ryu Karate and Wau Shotokan Karate Club; National Capital District (NCD) – Mas Oyama Kyokushin Karate, Hohola Shotokan Karate, Six-Mile Kyokushin Karate and Rock Shotokan Karate; New Ireland – Kavieng Kyokushin Karate; Northern – Popondetta Shotokan Karate Club; and West New Britain –  Hoskins Shotokan Karate.