Lahanis spots up for grabs

‘Players need to earn their places in squad’

GOROKA Lahanis spots for the upcoming Digicel Cup season are up for grabs as the side look to rediscover the form that won them the 2018 title, says an official.
Club selectors’ chairman Benji Filele said two 29-man squads, selected from the recent Simon Sia Super Nines, would lock horns at the end of this month before the Lahanis roster was finalised for the season.
Filele, who is also the Simon Sia Super Nines director, said Goroka Whites and Reds were undergoing intensive training for the two trials with one eye on a spot in the final 30-man squad.
“Every position in the Eastern Highlands team is up for grabs,” he said.
“It is important that every player in the two sides has to work hard to earn a spot in the Lahanis squad.
“The 30-man squad will be maintained for the entire Digicel Cup season.
“Our preparations for the upcoming season are on target.
“We are gearing up for a good season. We’re aiming to go deep into the finals.”
Meanwhile, franchise owner Simon Sia vowed to continue his sponsorship of the side, who play their home matches at the National Sports Insitute.
This year will be Sia’s 14th straight year of sponsoring the side who the titles in 2010, 2011 and 2018. They reached the 2013 grand final but lost to the Port Moresby Vipers.
Reds: Arnold Lang, Benzi Kama, Cedric Buno, Dell Benji, Demai Koa, Dylan Vavana, Falmon Iveke, Gabriel Makam, Hege Lepe, Jason Jacob, Jonah Urakoko, John Avefa, Jordan Millie, Junior Aukeke, Junior Wagi, Kafu Ken, Kamoxy Keo, Lanike Poi, Levi Sali, Manu Olam, Maxwell Jerry, Mena Kipefa, Palangat Kanini, Paul Aizo, Paul Ivan, Peter Kun, Pupune Gomae, Robert Lai, Ronald Neng, Gonzella Urakusie (coach), David Koyapo (assistant coach), Alphonse Benny (trainer).
Whites: Alex Hamura, Arnold Temai, Aron Gunure, Charles Sul, David Kameda, Eddie Par, Edmond Ekesae, Jay Tee Mel, Herry Hatareke, John Auwo, Jonathan Gotuno, Joshua Midi, Junior John, Junior Namane, Junior Rocky, Kevi Buno, Lawrence Suto, Manu Solly, Manu Dickson, Norman Dinoke, Paul Pokana, Philemon Kona, Rogger Kenny, Supa Tamai, Slyvester Seka, Tassy Kawagle, Tompo Kario, Triga Siane, Warike Tombun, Michael Moses (coach), Ivan Moses (trainer).

Leave a Reply