Lakwaharu 9s teams in hunt for K30,000 prize

Normal, Sports

The National, Monday November 11th, 2013


IT will be daunting task as 40 teams challenge for the K30,000 prize money in the Lakwaharu Rugby League Nines tournament at Tubusereia village today.

The cash prizes have been provided by Central Governor Kila Haoda

All eyes are on the major cash prize of K5,000 and the cup.

The runners-up pocket K3,000.

The plate division champions bag K2,000, runners-up get K1,500 while the bowl division winners pick up K700 and runners-up take home K500

The governor will kick off the event.

Two-time defending champions Porebada Broncos start as favourites to defend their crown for the third successive season.

Challengers include Porebade-based Sandy Saints  and Tigers from the Hiri West coastline. 

Boera village has two teams, Sailors one and two. 

Lealea has Buria Reds (1-2) and Bogi Dogs. 

Roku will field their first and second 13s. 

Papa have Koita Cowboys.

Hosts Tubusereia will field five teams; Tubsy (1-3), Bese Bulldogs and Daeres. 

Gaire has a development squad along with Turabu Warriors. 

Sebore and Gwarumemase from  Kairuku Hiri are also taking part.

The other teams are from the National Capital District: Mahuru, Koki Eels, Hanuabada Tolly Ice, Bese, Gabi, Tatana (1-2), Pari, Vabukori Mosquitoes, Amua, Taurama Waves, Dunamis, Keakalo, WRS Abau Viuna, Gabagaba (1-2) and Kerema.

Only the top 16 teams will qualify for the playoffs from the 10 pools. 

The knockouts, quarter finals and preliminary finals are on Thursday while the semi-finals and grand finals are on Friday.

Lakwaharu League 9s chairman Micky Kone said all the teams and players abide by the rules set by the organising committee.

Kone warned all players, supporters and village communities that the five-day tournament would be an alcohol-free event.

He said the liquor ban in Tubusereia is to see that the tournament ends trouble free and peaceful in true Papuan style.