Lamana bag snooker title

Normal, Sports

The National – Thursday, June 23, 2011

LAMANA 1 captain Arua Simoi wrapped up another premiership for his team when he won the third singles decider against Bestcars Joseph Ng on Sunday night at the Port Moresby Country club.
The game went into a decider when the scores were tied 3-3 after four singles and two doubles.
Simoi and Yiannis Nicoloau defeated Ng and John Chan 2-0 respectively while Warren Gai and Ong Beng Haut beat David Johns and Noel Ramos with the same frame scores.
Ramos and Simoi came from behind to defeat Chan and Ng while Ong and Robin Seeto combined to beat Nicoloau and Johns.
Johns made amends for his earlier loss to Gai in the first decider when he made a break of 33 to completely outplay Gai.
In the second singles, Ong edged out Nicoloau on the pink ball to set up the final between Simoi and Ng.
Steady Simoi played brilliant snooker to win his side’s premiership trophy when Ng conceded on the brown ball with the score 50-10.
“It was a very tense final and went right down to the wire,” tournament director Sean McCarthy said at the presentation after the match.
“But congratulations to both teams for a spectacular end to another great Pacific MMI Corporate competition.”
Bestcars defeated Ela Motors First Choice last Saturday in the semi-final for their appearance on Sunday.
Murub Naikos took out the B grade title when they defeated JKL Thunders 4-3 while in C grade JKL Thunders won their second consecutive premiership by defeating SED Optical Bomana Bullets 4-2.
The best and fairest players awards went to Simoi in A grade, Craig Bienvenu of Nationwide Loss Adjusters Nitros and Anthony Mota took out the ward in the C grade.
The highest break of 39 was scored by PNG champion Djorne Fong who played for the GAL Top Shooters team.
In B grade, Tony Peter (JKL Thunders), Alex Awasa (Murub Naikos) and Charlie Tom (NGCB Dragons) made breaks of 29 each, while in C grade Garry Saruva from the PMMI Nambis team made the highest break of 24.
McCarthy thanked Pacific MMI for their continued support of snooker and all the sponsors of individual teams.