Lewas bid for qualifiers

The National,Wednesday June 22nd, 2016

THE International Cricket Council yesterday announced the final women’s squads for this year’s ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier East Asia-Pacific to be held in Apia, Samoa, from July 15-22.
The teams competing in the tournament are hosts Samoa, Papua New Guinea and Japan.
Samoa and PNG qualified for the tri-series by virtue of finishing first and second respectively at last year’s Pacific Games in PNG.
The winners of the qualifier will progress to a global qualifier to be held later this year, ahead of next year’s ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in England.
“We know that a bigger, better global game is one which has more women involved in all aspects of our sport and the ICC has committed to making that a strategic priority,” ICC East Asia-Pacific regional development manager Kieran McMillan said.
“Part of that is ensuring there is a pathway for associate and affiliate members to global cricket events.
“It will be exciting to see the improvements in the competing national teams as a result of increased grassroots participation that underpins their talent development programmes,” he said.
Joining the competition for a second time will be a team from Cricket Without Borders (CWOB).
CWOB is an organisation that aims to promote and develop cricket for young women in the spirit of sportsmanship, friendship, cultural diversity and fun.
CWOB will put together an invitational side made up from girls from around Victoria, Australia.
They will play friendly matches against the three competing nations.
The team will be coached by former Australian cricketer Bryce McGain. The first round of matches will be played on Friday, July 15 at the Garden Ovals complex in Apia. The team on top of the points table at the end of the double round robin will be declared the winner and all matches will be live scored with scores available through the EAP website. PNG: Pauke Siaka (c), Helen Buruka (vc), Ravini Oa (vc), Veru Kila Frank, Konio Oala, Brenda Hoi Tau, Kopi John, Mairi Tom, Hinamutawa Philip, Kari Serua, Sibona Lucy Jimmy, Geathie Kilapat, Daniella Luwenica Saiwa Ila, Renagi Mogala.